(CHC42015) Certificate IV in Community Services

Ask a Question
Apply Now
Download Brochure

Course Overview

This course is for people who are looking to start a career in a community services organisation. It is relevant to a wide range of services that provides support to disadvantaged individuals and groups. This course will teach you the skills to work autonomously under the guidance of others in residential and community settings.  

This qualification would suit:

  • People who work in community services and want to gain a qualification
  • People who currently hold a Certificate III in Community Services Work (or similar) and would like to update their skills and knowledge
  • People who are doing Certificate III in Community Services Work who want to progress to the Certificate IV and /or Diploma level

You will be required to undertake a National Police Check.


AQF Code
Course Duration
44 weeks
Launceston, Hobart
Intake Dates
Hobart: February; Launceston: February
Study Mode
Full time, on-campus
Course Fee
Additional Course Costs
English Language Requirements
IELTS 6 (no band less than 6.0) or equivalent

Career Opportunities

Completion of this course can lead to employment in the disability and/or community sector, for example:

  • Client contact
  • Support Worker (community-based with an orientation toward any or a number of the following: youth, women, families, domestic violence, child protection)
  • Assistant Community Workers (focussing on community health primarily in an Indigenous community)
  • Youth Housing Support Worker
  • Neighbourhood Centre Worker
  • Intake and Referral Worker (Aboriginal)
  • Youth Case Worker (community health service setting – non-residential)
  • Indigenous Youth Worker
  • Recreational Activities Officer (weekend)
  • Disability Support Worker
  • Youth Worker
  • Juvenile Justice Officer
  • Community Care Worker
  • Juvenile Justice Officer (community)
  • Juvenile Justice Court Officer
  • Residential Support Worker
  • Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Community Development Worker
  • Tenants working in a range of areas

Pathways to further study

Diploma of Community Services 

Course Structure

Course delivery includes a number of different training methods to ensure that individual learning styles, needs and preferences are being catered for.

Delivery methods may include:

    • Face-to-face workshops
    • Practical sessions
    • Projects and simulation
    • Reading, writing and research activities
    • Workplace learning

To achieve a Certificate IV in Community Services, 15 units must be successfully completed:

7 Core Units
CHCADV001 Facilitate the interests and rights of clients
CHCCCS004 Assess co-existing needs
CHCCOM002 Use communication to build relationships
CHCDIV001 Work with diverse people
CHCLEG001 Work legally and ethically
CHCPRP001 Develop and maintain networks and collaborative partnerships
HLTWHS003 Maintain work health and safety

8 Elective Units must also be completed


Entry Requirements

  • IELTS 6 (no band less than 6.0) or equivalent.


Recognition of Prior Learning

At TasTAFE we believe that the things you already know how to do should be formally recognised.

Regardless of how, when or where the learning occurred, you may be eligible to apply for recognition of your skills and experience.  When you apply to attend TasTAFE you can ask for recognition of:

  • schooling
  • formal/informal learning
  • life experience
  • employment/work experience.

You may also be able to apply for credit transfer for units/modules that you have completed previously at another training organisation. 

It is also possible to apply for credit for TasTAFE subjects if you decide to study at university.



Course information displayed on this website is subject to change.

You may be required to purchase additional materials or stationery for your course.