(ICT40115) Certificate IV in Information Technology

Ask a Question
Apply Now
CRICOS ID – 086535B
Course Duration – 50 weeks
Course Fee – AU$10,500
Location – Hobart, Launceston
Intake Dates – February, July


Course Overview

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to be competent in a range of ICT fields for participation in an information technology environment in any industry.

This course has five (5) specialist streams (both core and elective) to provide choice and flexibility. Selection of units from at least three (3) of the specialist streams are required to complete this qualification. The streams are:

  • Networking
  • Programming
  • IT Support
  • Web Design and Development
  • Digital Games
  • Digital Media Technologies
  • Project Management

Please note: Not all elective streams are available at all campuses and electives offered at each campus may vary.


Career Opportunities

Graduates exiting this qualification will have the skills to secure employment in an ICT ‘generalist’ role, with useful skills and knowledge across several of the specialist streams.

Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:

  • Computer Technician
  • Customer Support
  • Customer Support Professional
  • Information Systems Operator
  • PC Support
  • Systems Administrator
  • Systems Support
  • Technical Support
  • User Support Technician
  • Network Operations Technician


Pathways to further study

Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Technology

Diploma + Degree


Course Structure

To achieve a Certificate IV in Information Technology, 20 units must be successfully completed:

  • 5 Core Units
  • 15 Elective Units
Core: Units
  • BSBWHS304A Participate effectively in WHS communication and consultative processes
  • BSBSUS301A Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices
  • ICAICT202A Work and communicate effectively in an IT environment
  • ICAICT401A Determine and confirm client business requirements
  • ICAICT418A Contribute to copyright, ethics and privacy in an IT environment
Elective Units: select 15 units from at least 3 of the following streams
  • Networking
  • Programming
  • IT Support
  • Web Design
  • Project Management

Please note: some units have pre-requisites and not all units are available in all regions.

Elective Streams offered at each campus may vary.


Assessment Process

Throughout all assessments, Occupational Health & Safety procedures must be followed.


Entry Requirements

  • Certificate III in Information, Digital Media and Technology
  • IELTS 5.5 General Training (no band less than 5.0) or equivalent


Recognition of Prior Learning

At TasTAFE we believe that the things you already know how to do should be formally recognised.

Regardless of how, when or where the learning occurred, you may be eligible to apply for recognition of your skills and experience.  When you apply to attend TasTAFE you can ask for recognition of:

  • schooling
  • formal/informal learning
  • life experience
  • employment/work experience.

You may also be able to apply for credit transfer for units/modules that you have completed previously at another training organisation.

It is also possible to apply for credit for TasTAFE subjects if you decide to study at university.



Course information displayed on this website is subject to change.

You may be required to purchase additional materials or stationery for your course.