(ICT60515) Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Technology

Ask a Question
Apply Now

CRICOS ID – 086756M

Course Duration – 52 weeks

Course Fee – AU$10,500

Location – Hobart

Intake Dates – February, July

Course Overview

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to coordinate and administer, as an independent information and communications technology (ICT) specialist or as part of a team, the installation, commissioning and ongoing maintenance of a range of networks, enterprise servers and systems, including internetworking, security and e-business solutions.

Whilst studying this course you will develop a diverse skillset in database and network administration, computer user support, and web design and administration. Upon completion of your studies you will be qualified to work as an Information and Communications Technology (ICT) consultant or as part of an ICT team.

 Career Opportunities

Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:

  • Network Administrator or Coordinator
  • Network Engineer
  • Enterprise Systems Administrator
  • Systems Developer
  • IT Administrator or Coordinator
  • IT Operations Administrator or Coordinator
  • Network Services Administrator or Coordinator
  • Administrator or Coordinator Network Support
  • Network Operations Analyst
  • Administrator or Coordinator Network Security
  • Administrator or Coordinator Network E-business.

Pathways to further study

Diploma + Degree

(Upon successfully completion of an Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Technology, you may receive up to one (1) year’s credit into a Bachelor of Computing or Bachelor of Information Systems Degree.

Course Structure

To achieve an Advanced Diploma of Computer Systems Technology, 18 units must be successfully completed:

  • 12 Core Units
  • 6 Elective Units

Units offered in 2014 training:

Web Programming Projects cluster

  • ICAPRG527A Apply intermediate object-oriented language skills – Core
  • ICAWEB501A Build a dynamic website – Core
  • ICAWEB502A Create dynamic web pages – Core
  • ICADBS504A Integrate database with a website – Elective

Communications Cluster

  • ICAPMG609A Plan and direct complex IT projects – Core
  • ICAPMG609A Manage IT project systems implementation – Core
  • ICANWK501A Plan, implement and test enterprise communication solutions – Elective
  • ICTTEN5168A Design and implement an enterprise voice over internet protocol and a unified communications network – Elective
  • ICANWK610A Design and build integrated VoIP networks – Elective
  • ICANWK611A Configure call processing network elements for secure VoIP networks – Elective

Internetworking & Security Cluster

  • ICANWK529A Install and manage complex ICT networks – Core
  • ICANWK612A Plan and manage troubleshooting advanced integrated IP networks – Elective
  • ICANWK508A Install, operate and troubleshoot medium enterprise switches – Core
  • ICANWK507A Install, operate and troubleshoot medium enterprise routers – Core
  • ICANWK603A Plan, configure and test advanced internetwork routing solutions – Elective
  • ICANWK506A Configure, verify and troubleshoot WAN links and IP services in a medium enterprise network – Core
  • ICANWK509A Design and implement a security perimeter for ICT networks – Core
  • ICANWK602A Plan, configure and test advanced server based security – Core

Entry Requirements

  • Certificate IV in Information Technology
  • IELTS 5.5 General Training (no band less than 5.0) or equivalent 

Recognition of Prior Learning

At TasTAFE we believe that the things you already know how to do should be formally recognised.

Regardless of how, when or where the learning occurred, you may be eligible to apply for recognition of your skills and experience.  When you apply to attend TasTAFE you can ask for recognition of:

  • schooling
  • formal/informal learning
  • life experience
  • employment/work experience.

You may also be able to apply for credit transfer for units/modules that you have completed previously at another training organisation.

It is also possible to apply for credit for TasTAFE subjects if you decide to study at university.


Course information displayed on this website is subject to change.

You may be required to purchase additional materials or stationery for your course.