(ICT41015) Certificate IV in Computer Systems Technology

Ask a Question
Apply Now

Course Overview

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to be competent in a wide range of technologies including installing and administering simple networks, servers, and client desktop deployments either as an independent information and communications technology (ICT) specialist or as part of a team.  Students learn in a simulated workplace environment with real systems used in the industry.

Graduates from Certificate IV will be able to apply a wide range of knowledge and skills for Information and Communications Technologies and to support small to medium enterprises (SMEs) that require a broad range of support.

The units that TasTAFE offer to make up this course have been selected in consultation with industry to reflect their needs and to ensure that graduates are prepared with the skills that employers are looking for. The skill-base you will develop in this course has been designed to be diverse enough to enable graduates to be adaptive to varying ICT professional environments, and to give the best possible employability outcomes for our students.

Make the most of your critical thinking and problem solving skills and take the next step in your ICT career with TasTAFE.

AQF Code
Course Duration
21 weeks
Intake Dates
February, July
Study Mode
Full time, on campus.
Course Fee
$8000 (prices include all material fees)
Required Prior Study
Certificate III in Information, Digital Media and Technology
English Language Requirements
IELTS 5.5 (no band less than 5.0) or equivalent

Career Opportunities

This course may lead to the following career opportunities:

  • Computer technician
  • Customer support
  • Information systems operator
  • PC support
  • Systems administrator
  • Technical support officer
  • Network operations technician

Course Structure

ICT41015 – Certificate IV in Computer Systems Technology – comprises 20 units packaged as 12 core units and 8 electives. All units below must be completed successfully to gain the qualification.


Core Units
BSBSUS401 Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices
BSBWHS304 Participate effectively in WHS communication and consultation processes
ICTICT401 Determine and confirm client business requirements
ICTICT418 Contribute to copyright, ethics and privacy in an ICT environment
ICTICT421 Connect, maintain and configure hardware components
ICTNWK404 Install, operate and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network
ICTNWK405 Build a small wireless local area network
ICTPRG414 Apply introductory programming skills in another language
ICTSAS425 Configure and troubleshoot operating system software
ICTSAS426 Locate and troubleshoot ICT equipment, system and software faults
ICTTEN417 Install, configure and test a router
ICTWEB411 Produce basic client-side script for dynamic web pages
ICTICT415 Provide one-to-one instruction
ICTNWK401 Install and manage a server
ICTNWK420 Install and configure virtual machines
ICTNWK411 Deploy software to networked computers
ICTSAS420 Provide first-level remote help-desk support
ICTTEN416 Install, configure and test an internet protocol network
ICTSAS410 Identify and resolve client ICT problems
ICTSAS411 Assist with policy development for client support procedures

Assessment Process

Assessments are designed to help you demonstrate your skills and knowledge. They allow us to confirm you can perform to the standard required in the workplace, to meet all of the requirements of the course.

Assessment may include:

  • Simulated environment
  • Observation
  • Assignments
  • Portfolio of evidence
  • Presentations
  • Questioning

What will I need to bring?

Students will need to provide the following items:

  • Folder
  • Paper
  • Pens
  • USB or other external storage options

Additional Costs


Recognition of Prior Learning

It makes sense that you should be recognised for the things you already know how to do. TasTAFE can assess your skills and knowledge based on your previous education, work history or life experience. This may help you gain your qualification a whole lot faster, saving you valuable time and money.


ICT41015 – Certificate IV in Computer Systems Technology

Pathways to further study

(ICT50418) Diploma of Information Technology Networking.